

Tel: 020 8657 4433

THE OLD RUSSELLIANS (Founded 1890)

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

10:00am Saturday 18th November 2017 Held at Royal Russell School, Croydon

MINUTES

The objectives of the The Old Russellians are:

- To keep Old Russellians in touch with one another
- To organise social and sporting events
- To publish a regular newsletter
- To keep Old Russellians informed of all matters of interest regarding the School.

Present (in alphabetical order):

Brian Angel (1938-1947)
Colin Cameron (1975-1983)
Neil Cufley (Director of Operations)
Adrian Edwards (Secretary) (1969-1976)
Robert Fisher (1996-2002)
Charles Froy (1992-1998)
Aazim Ihsan (2004-2011
Simon Jones (Treasurer) (1991-1998),
Jeremy Lloyd-Jones (Development Manager)
John Piggin (XJP) (Chairman & retired Cambridge Housemaster) (1974-2013)
Julia Powell (O.R. Correspondent and retired Head of Girls' PE) (1970-2005)
Ian Walsh (1973-1975)

Apologies:

Kemal Chaudhri (1967-1974)

Absent from Meeting:

1. Notice of the Meeting and Confirmation of a Quorum

The meeting was opened at 10.05am by John Piggin who welcomed those attending. Notice of the AGM had been announced, and the Agenda was posted, on the website on 4th November 2017, in accordance with the Rules. It was also announced in the autumn newsletter.

THE MEETING WAS QUORATE

2. Apologies for absence:

Apologies had been received from Kemal Chaudhri.

3. Minutes of the Previous AGM held on 26th November 2016

No matters were arising, and these had been previously signed by Chairman, John Piggin, on 4^{th} February 2017.

4. Matters Arising

The Chairman, John Piggin, made some observations from the past year.

5. Correspondents Report

(attached to file)

6. Treasurer's Report

(attached to file)

The Chairman received and approved the balance sheet.

7. Chairmans Report

(attached to file)

8. Confirmation of Election of Officers and Committee members

Officers and members of the committee were duly nominated and elected at the AGM for a period of up to 3 years and therefore no further elections are necessary until November 2020.

Officers nominated as follows:

Chair: Adrian Edwards (1969-1976) Secretary: Ian Walsh (1973-1975) Treasurer: Simon Jones (1991-1998)

Committee members:
Brian Angel (1938-1947)
Colin Cameron (1975-1983)
Kemal Chaudhri (1967-1974)
Rob Fisher (1996-2002)
Charles Froy (1992-1998)
Aazim Ihsan (2004-2011)
John Piggin (staff 1974-2013)
James Strudwick (2003-2013)
Julia Powell (Correspondent and retired Head of PE 1970-2004)

Date of next Annual General Meeting: tbc

Meeting closed at 10:40 when tea and coffee was available

There was a vote of thanks to the retiring Chairman and to the school for the use of school facilities.

CHAIRMAN Date